ASU Best Teams: No. 3 1989-90 Men’s Golf vs. No. 11 2007 Softball

We continue our best teams from ASU ever this summer with our next matchup. No. 1 1981 Baseball beat No. 4 1975-76 Football in our last matchup. Now it’s No. 3 1989-90 Men’s Golf vs. No. 11 2007 Softball

Here’s the current bracket:

Record: NCAA Champions, PAC-10 Champions

Head coach: Steve Loy

Notable players: Phil Mickelson, Per Johansson, Jim Lemon, Scott Frisch

The rundown: Led by some guy named Phil Mickelson, ASU captured its first title on the Men’s side of the course. Mickelson, also had the back half of his back-to-back Individual title as well this season. At the Innisbrook Island Course in Tarpon Springs, Florida the Sun Devils beat Florida by two strokes to take home the title. The Women’s Golf team also won that season.

Record: 54-17 (13-8 Pac-10) Reached Women’s College World Series

Head coach: Clint Meyers

Notable players: Katie Burkhart, Kaitlin Cochran

The rundown: In the second year of the Clint Meyers era, ASU made it to the Women’s College World Series again. Katie Burkhart continued to dice and cement her legacy as the best Sun Devil in program history. Unfortunately for her the offense didn’t produce in Oklahoma City. ASU went 0-2 to Northwestern and DePaul having score one run. Although, it set the stage for the next year as ASU grabbed its first NCAA championship.

Vote on Twitter to help decide the best ASU team ever: is an entertaining sports site. The site specializes in viral sports content. Content includes controversial and original opinions, news stories, off-beat stories, humorous videos, entertaining photos, exclusive interviews, and witty banter between the writers and commenters. Distinct Athlete was launched in May of 2012 and has been featured and/or cited on several prominent sports sites.