Two Ducks Nominated to Doak Walker Award Watch List

Oregon running backs Travis Dye and C.J. Verdell have been nominated to the Doak Walker Award Watch List.

The Doak Walker Award is given to the best running back in all of college football on an annual basis.

Per the Doak Walker news release, University athletic departments can nominate their running backs until October.

There are 72 total running backs listed, including the pair of Ducks. The reigning 2018 winner, Johnathan Taylor (Wisconsin) is on the list.

Joining Dye and Verdell in representing the Pac-12 are Eno Benjamin (Arizona State), Jermar Jefferson (Oregon State), Joshua Kelley (UCLA), Cameron Scarlett (Stanford), Vavae Malepeai (USC), Max Borghi (Washington State), and J.J. Taylor (Arizona).

It will be an interesting season for the running backs as the draft class is still loaded with talent even with several high profile departures to the NFL over several years.

Can Verdell or Dye separate themselves over the other to garner the award? The conference is full of talent at the position. is an entertaining sports site. The site specializes in viral sports content. Content includes controversial and original opinions, news stories, off-beat stories, humorous videos, entertaining photos, exclusive interviews, and witty banter between the writers and commenters. Distinct Athlete was launched in May of 2012 and has been featured and/or cited on several prominent sports sites.