Oregon QB Justin Herbert Named to Davey O’Brien Watch List

Another day, another watch list for the standout Ducks QB and future NFL Draft pick

The Davey O’Brien Award is given to the top quarterback in the country on an annual basis, typically most Heisman Trophy contenders / winners have won the award on the road to winning the Heisman.

Last year’s winner was Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray, who ended up winning the Heisman and was the first overall pick in the 2019 NFL Draft by the Arizona Cardinals.

Herbert joins a list of 30 candidates given out by the committee as you can see here.

Including Herbert, there are four other Pac-12 Quarterbacks on the list. They are: K.J. Costello of Stanford, J.T. Daniels (USC), Steven Montez (Colorado), and Khalil Tate (Arizona).

According to the list as mentioned above, 15 are seniors, nine are juniors, and six are sophomores.

The last Oregon QB to win this award was the GOAT of all Ducks quarterbacks, current Tennessee Titans QB Marcus Mariota in 2014. He also won the Heisman Trophy that year.

DistinctAthlete.com is an entertaining sports site. The site specializes in viral sports content. Content includes controversial and original opinions, news stories, off-beat stories, humorous videos, entertaining photos, exclusive interviews, and witty banter between the writers and commenters. Distinct Athlete was launched in May of 2012 and has been featured and/or cited on several prominent sports sites.