Derrick Johnson, Brian Orakpo headline Texas Hall of Honor class

Four football players, including standouts like Brian Orakpo and Derrick Johnson, are among the 13 former student-athletes and one administrator who will receive induction into the Texas Athletics Hall of Honor in an August ceremony, the school announced on Thursday.

The ceremony will take place on Aug. 30 at 6 p.m. Central in the Zlotnik Ballroom at the AT&T Hotel and Conference Center. Texas will also recognize the inductees during the football season opener against Louisiana Tech the following day.

The 63rd class includes football players Brian Orakpo, Derrick Johnson, Brian Robison, and Bryant Westbrook, and shortstop Seth Johnston, with vintage selections including football player and noted artist Ragan Gennusa and baseball player Andre Robertson. The Special Selection for the men is Don Evans, a former chairman of the Board of Regents.

The women who will receive induction are Denise LaKeisha Backus (Track & Field), Sandy (Sureephong) Blanton (Tennis), Marshevet (Hooker) Flintall (Track & Field), Nancy (Hager) Hale (Golf), Patty (Sabo) Karsten (Swimming & Diving), and Danielle Viglione (Basketball).

Click here for more information on the inductees. is an entertaining sports site. The site specializes in viral sports content. Content includes controversial and original opinions, news stories, off-beat stories, humorous videos, entertaining photos, exclusive interviews, and witty banter between the writers and commenters. Distinct Athlete was launched in May of 2012 and has been featured and/or cited on several prominent sports sites.